After a while of shooting with the DJI Mavic Pro, I notice something weird, my footage was off.  Whatever I did I could not get a clean sliding shot. Looking deep I realized many of my shots were a bit crooked. Turns out my gimbal was not calibrated. When you are taking photos or footage looking down, it’s barely noticeable but when you are trying to shoot anything with horizontal lines it becomes obvious. The solution is easy, you need to calibrate the DJI Mavic Pro gimbal. Calibration may sound like a big word, but its simply telling the Mavic what is the gimbal “idle” position to keep the horizon level.

It only takes a few steps:

For any type of calibration make sure the Mavic is placed on a leveled surface.  then connect to the Mavic using the DJI go app and follow the steps below

Auto Calibration

  1. Go to the settings menu and select the gimbal icon
  2. then select auto calibration and wait a bit. The gimbal will make a little dance, it should take two or three minutes until calibration is complete.

Manual Adjustment

If the horizon still looks tilted to you, you can go ahead and adjust the gimbal manually.

  1. same as before, go to the settings menu and select the gimbal icon
  2. but this time, hit adjust camera gimbal

Lastly, hit the cleft and right arrows until the horizon is not tilted anymore.